Surrey County Cricket Club was formed in 1845 and is one of the most historic sports clubs in the United Kingdom.

We first won the County Championship in 1890 and have since lifted the most prestigious trophy in English domestic cricket nineteen times, most recently in 2002. The club’s most successful period was from 1952 to 1958, when we won the title an unprecedented seven consecutive times.

Since the introduction of One Day and Twenty20 cricket, Surrey have also seen great success in the limited overs game. We won the Benson and Hedges Cup in 1974 and since then have won a further eight limited overs titles, most recently with the Clydesdale Bank 40 in 2011. Surrey were also the first ever holders of the Twenty20 Cup, after winning the title in 2003.

The vast majority of Surrey home matches are played at the historic Kia Oval cricket ground in Kennington, south London – which has also staged International cricket since 1880 and was the ground where the Ashes were born in 1882. Since then, every great cricketer in the world has played in the shadow of the famous gas-holders which overlook the ground.

Surrey CCC is owned by its Members, who then elect members onto the General Committee. The General Committee meets five or six times each year to provide oversight of the Club and governs the Club rules. The Chairman is elected by the General Committee, and he also chairs the Surrey Cricket Management Board (SCMB) which meets regularly to support the executive operation of the Club with regards to cricket, Membership and the business of the Club.

The SCMB is made up of members of the General Committee, as well as a number of top business professionals who are drafted in by the Club to provide specific expertise; all of whom provide their support on a voluntary basis. Further oversight is provided by the Audit, Remuneration and Governance Committee, chaired by the Honorary Treasurer.


Surrey CCC Chief Executive

Richard Gould
Surrey CCC Chairman

Richard Thompson


David Stewart
Club President for 2017

David Stewart
Deputy President

Ken Schofield

Surrey CCC Management

Surrey CCC Patron: His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales

Richard ThompsonPat Pocock
Retire 2017:David Stewart OBE
Oliver SlipperSir Trevor McDonald OBE
Nick BlythSir Michael Pickard
Retire 2018:Bernie Coleman OBE
Robbie BeestonVic Dodds
Chris DymondBrian Downing OBE
Elliott HurstJohn Edrich MBE
Richard ThompsonLord Sandberg CBE
Retire 2019:Roger Harman
Jerry HudsonRoger Knight OBE
David KingsmillRt Hon Sir John Major KG CH
Barry KitchersideDerek Newton
Chris PayneJohn Poland
Retire 2020:Mike Soper
Mark ButcherMicky Stewart OBE
Roly WaltonSir Richard Stilgoe OBE DL
David GillDavid Watts DL
Co-Opted:Alan Dickinson
Charlotte Samuelson (Retiring 2017)
Ex Officio:
The President
The Deputy President
The Hon. Treasurer
R.W. ThompsonA.P. Dickinson
A.P. DickinsonM.J. Eadon
S.J. Carey (Operations Director)M. Palios
C.F. DymondJ.E. Ryan
R. ElliottR.W. Thompson
R. Gould (CEO)
Lord Grabiner
C. Hodgson (Commercial Director)
I. Jamieson
A.J. Lane (Finance and Services Director)
O. Slipper
A.J. Stewart OBE (Director of Cricket)
D.T. Watts DL
E.J.C.L.R.C. Rainford-Brent (Director of Women's Cricket)

General Committee

The General Committee is the overarching body that provides oversight over the Club. It meets 5/6 times each year, and delegates authority for running the club’s affairs to the Management Board.

Management Board

The Management Board meets monthly under the direction of the Club Chairman in order to fulfil its remit of managing the affairs of the Club.  The Board is drawn from the General Committee, the club executive, and also from industry where specific skills are required. The operation of the Management Board is governed by the Club Rules.

Audit Risk and Governance Committee

The Audit Risk and Governance Committee meets 5/6 times each year and is responsible for ensuring that the Club is well run with regards to financial controls and audit, mitigation of risk, remuneration and governance.

Become A Surrey Member