Four Named in ECB Summer Squad


Published: 2nd April, 2013

Surrey have had four players named in the ECB Performance Squad for this summer’s International programme.

The quartet of Chris Tremlett, Jade Dernbach, Kevin Pietersen and Stuart Meaker are in the 30 man group of players, who will be monitored by England selectors to help better prepare them for the demands of the International game.

Tremlett, who is this week stepping his return from injury by taking part in pre-season friendlies against Kent and Hampshire, is the only player named in the squad not to have been involved with an England squad during this winter’s tours of New Zealand and India.

ECB National Selector Geoff Miller said: “The players included in this squad reflect the progress they have made with senior England teams and the England Lions over the last twelve months.

“All of the players named in the EPS squad have been involved with one or more of the England squads during the winter, with the exception of Chris Tremlett who has been going through a rehabilitation process.”

Of the four players named, Pietersen is under an England Central Contract and Dernbach earned an Incremental Contract after his performances over the winter.

England Performance Squad 2013

  1. Alastair Cook (Essex) Test and One-Day Captain
  2. Stuart Broad  (Nottinghamshire) T20 Captain
  3. James Anderson (Lancashire)
  4. Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
  5. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
  6. Ravi Bopara (Essex)
  7. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
  8. Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
  9. Jos Buttler (Somerset)
  10. Nick Compton (Somerset)
  11. Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
  12. Steven Finn (Middlesex)
  13. Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
  14. James Harris (Middlesex)
  15. Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
  16. Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire)
  17. Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
  18. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
  19. Graham Onions (Durham)
  20. Monty Panesar (Sussex)
  21. Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
  22. Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
  23. Matt Prior (Sussex)
  24. Joe Root (Yorkshire)
  25. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
  26. James Tredwell (Kent)
  27. Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
  28. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
  29. Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
  30. Luke Wright (Sussex)

Join the Facebook Discussion


Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft