Curran and Roy named in England Squad

Roy Curran Web

Published: 7th December, 2017

Surrey pair Tom Curran and Jason Roy have been named in the England squad for the upcoming One Day International series against Australia.

Both were part of England’s most recent white ball squad, for September’s series against the West Indies, and have retained their place for the post-Ashes series that will take place across Australia in second half of January.

Prior to the series, Curran will be with England Test squad trying to come back from a 2-0 deficit in the ongoing Ashes series, whilst Roy has just landed in Australia, where he will be playing for the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League.

National selector, James Whitaker, said: “With around 18 months to the start of the 2019 World Cup, our ODI side continues to make solid progress with series wins over the West Indies and South Africa last summer and a semi-final berth in the Champions Trophy.

“The forthcoming series against Australia presents another significant opportunity for this group to showcase their skills and talent against a quality side away from home.

“The core group of the squad have been involved at this level for at least the past two years and that consistency of selection has enabled us to build a cohesive squad that is playing some entertaining and winning cricket.

“I would like to wish captain Eoin Morgan, head coach Trevor Bayliss and the players every success during the series.”

England 16-man squad versus Australia, Gillette ODI Series

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (Capt.)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Jake Ball (Nottinghamshire)

Sam Billings (Kent)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Tom Curran (Surrey)

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

David Willey (Yorkshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Mark Wood (Durham)

List of Matches

1st ODI, Sunday January 14 vs Australia, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne (2.20pm local time)

2nd ODI, Friday January 19 vs Australia, Gabba, Brisbane (1.20pm local time)

3rd ODI, Sunday January 21 vs Australia, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney (2.20pm local time)

4th ODI, Friday January 26 vs Australia, Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (1.50pm local time)

5th ODI, Sunday January 28 vs Australia, Optus Stadium, Perth (11.20am local time

Join the Facebook Discussion


Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft