Eleven named for opener with Middlesex

Surrey face Middlesex at The Kia Oval

Published: 31st July, 2020

Surrey have named the 11 players who will play in the Club’s first Bob Willis Trophy match against Middlesex this weekend.

The team that will take the field at The Kia Oval on Saturday is the same that represented the Club in the two-day friendly against the same opponents last Sunday.

They will again be captained by Rikki Clarke, who will be looking to cap off a special week personally after it was announced that he will be granted a testimonial year in 2021 on Thursday.

Winter signings James Taylor & Dan Moriarty are both in line to make their first-class debuts for Surrey.

Seven players are unavailable to Surrey due to their continued involvement with England’s summer programme. Rory Burns, Sam Curran, Ollie Pope and Ben Foakes are all part of the squad expected at Emirates Old Trafford ahead of next week’s first Test with Pakistan.

Meanwhile, Tom Curran, Jason Roy & Reece Topley are all part of the ongoing Royal London ODI series with Ireland at the Ageas Bowl.

Hashim Amla & Morne Morkel are at home in South Africa & Australia respectively, awaiting clearances on their return to work in the UK. Director of Cricket Alec Stewart described their current situation earlier this week.

Gus Atkinson & Jade Dernbach are both on their back-to-bowling programmes.  Fellow seamers Nicholas Kimber & Conor McKerr are both unavailable with knee injuries while a hamstring strain keeps Liam Plunkett out of this one.

You can see every ball of the match live on kiaoval.com and the official Surrey Cricket Facebook page from shortly before 11am each day.

Before the match begins both sets of players will take a knee in solidarity with anti-racism movements in the UK and around the world and not for any political organisation. There is no room for racism in cricket, sport or the wider community.


Rikki Clarke (c)

Scott Borthwick

Jordan Clark

Matt Dunn

Will Jacks

Daniel Moriarty

Ryan Patel

Jamie Smith

Mark Stoneman

James Taylor

Amar Virdi

Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft