England Retain Trio for South Africa Trip

Rory Burns celebrates a century for England

Published: 7th December, 2019

The Surrey trio of Rory Burns, Sam Curran and Ollie Pope have been retained by England for their forthcoming tour of South Africa.

All three played both Tests in the recent tour of New Zealand and had their selection for the South African trip confirmed today.

The tour begins with a pair of warm up matches at Willowmoore Park in Benoni before the first Test gets underway at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Boxing Day. Three subsequent matches will then take place in Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and Johannesburg.

The squad for the white ball portion of the tour, which starts on February 4th, will be confirmed closer to the time.

England Test squad

Joe Root (Yorkshire) captain
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jofra Archer (Sussex)
Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Rory Burns (Surrey)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Zak Crawley (Kent)
Sam Curran (Surrey)
Joe Denly (Kent)
Jack Leach (Somerset)
Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire)
Ollie Pope (Surrey)
Dominic Sibley (Warwickshire)
Ben Stokes (Durham) vice-captain
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Mark Wood (Durham)

Full Match Schedule

Tuesday 17-18 December: Two-day warm-up match – South Africa Invitational XI v England – Willowmoore Park, Benoni

Friday 20-22 December: Three-day first-class match – South Africa ‘A’ v England – Willowmoore Park, Benoni

Thursday 26-30 December: 1st Test – South Africa v England – SuperSport Park, Centurion

Friday 3-7 January: 2nd Test – South Africa v England – Newlands, Cape Town

Thursday 16-20 January: 3rd Test – South Africa v England – St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

Friday 24- 28 January: 4th Test – South Africa v England – Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft