Greatest XI: Most picked by era

Published: 21st October, 2019

As one of the most successful counties in the history of the domestic English game, Surrey have had their fair share of dominant eras and standout players. With three weeks of the Greatest XI vote left, we look at your favourite from each era.

As our 175th year as Surrey County Cricket Club gets under way, we’re celebrating the greatest men to have picked up a bat or ball for the Club. In order to have your say and pick your XI, click here.

Each decade has produced its own special moments and memorable players but few more so than Sir Jack Hobbs, who eventually retired in 1934 – an incredible 29 years after his debut. If you know anyone who was alive to see Hobbs take to the field, make sure you ask them about the man that amassed 61760 first-class runs in his distinguished career.

After the 1940s were largely ruined by war, Surrey created a monopoly in county cricket during the 1950s. A team led by Stuart Surridge and then Peter May won seven consecutive titles and of all the legendary names on offer to you from that team, it is Ken Barrington who has proven most popular ahead of the likes of Alec Bedser, Tony Lock and Jim Laker. He holds on to that honour for the much less successful 1960s too.

John Edrich takes the honour for the 1970s, having been a star of the 1971 County Championship title victory, scoring 2031 runs from 44 innings, and then captained the team between 1973 and 1977.

While Micky Stewart was a formidable teammate of Edrich’s, what followed was the era of Alec who played for Surrey between 1981 and 2003. Stewart is the most selected player in the entirety of the Greatest XI, the only wicket keeper in the eyes of most of you and therefore has proven the most popular option across the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s. 954 matches across first-class and List A matches, 40952 runs and 1244 dismissals with the gloves. It’s a fair choice.

Of the current decade, Sam Curran takes the honour ahead of Kumar Sangakkara and Rory Burns.

1930s – Sir Jack Hobbs

1950s – Ken Barrington

1960s – Ken Barrington

1970s – John Edrich

1980s – Alec Stewart

1990s – Alec Stewart

2000s – Alec Stewart

2010s – Sam Curran

In order to have your say and pick your XI, click here.

Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft