Pope Joins Curran at North/South Series

Pope Aussie

Published: 12th March, 2018

Wicket keeper batsman Ollie Pope has headed out for the annual North/South series – less than a week after returning home from Sydney!

Pope is taking his place in the ‘South’ side alongside Sam Curran and some of the finest talent in county cricket for a three match series in Barbados against their equivalents from the north of the country.

The first game takes place this Sunday (March 18th) – with subsequent matches the following week on Wednesday (21st) and Friday (23rd). As well as Pope and Curran, the South team boasts the talents of former Surrey batsman Laurie Evans as well stand out performers from last year such as Essex’s Jamie Porter and Middlesex opener Nick Gubbins. They are led by Sam Northeast, who recently left Kent to join Hampshire.

All three matches will be played at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, with the Caribbean island being Pope’s second destination of the winter after a hugely successful spell playing for Campbelltown-Camden in the highest level of Sydney grade cricket.

Pope becomes the latest Surrey player to rack up the air miles this winter after Mark Stoneman, Ben Foakes, Tom Curran, Jason Roy and Natalie Sciver all travelled to Australia and New Zealand to play for England; Jade Dernbach went to Hong Kong to play in the country’s T20 league; Sam Curran represented Auckland in New Zealand’s T20 competition and Stuart Meaker the same side in first-class cricket.

With Scott Borthwick playing club cricket in Tasmania and Will Jacks at the U19 World Cup in New Zealand – not to mention the globe trotting exploits of Surrey’s Australian pair Aaron Finch and Mitchell Marsh, the dressing room will be a well travelled place come the start of the new season!


Steven Mullaney (Notts, captain), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Adam Hose (Warwickshire), Joe Clarke (Worcestershire), Keaton Jennings (Lancashire), Brett D’Oliveira (Worcestershire), Alex Davies (Lancashire), Paul Coughlin (Notts), Matthew Fisher (Yorkshire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Richard Gleeson (Northamptonshire), Zak Chappell (Leicestershire), Matt Parkinson (Lancashire).


Sam Northeast (Kent, captain), Daniel Bell-Drummond (Kent), Nick Gubbins (Middlesex), Laurie Evans (Sussex), Delray Rawlins (Sussex), Ollie Pope (Surrey), John Simpson (Middlesex), Sam Curran (Surrey), Paul Walter (Essex), Dom Bess (Somerset), Jamie Porter (Essex), Tom Barber (Middlesex), Liam Norwell (Gloucestershire).

Join the Facebook Discussion


Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft