Zafar Ansari names his Greatest Surrey XI

Published: 8th November, 2019

Zafar Ansari was always a unique proposition as a cricketer and has now given his own take on Surrey’s Greatest XI.

The spinning all-rounder, who retired from the game in 2017, has picked a number of his teammates during his seven seasons as a Surrey cricketer as well as those that shone for the Club during his formative years.

Picking up his Surrey cap in 2014 and then making his England debut the following year before three Tests came in 2016, Ansari has a strong pedigree within the game.

Of his teammates during his time at Surrey; Ansari picked Rory Burns, Kumar Sangakkara and Sam Curran to be part of the side to represent Surrey after 175 years. Alec Stewart, Director of Cricket at the Club for much of his time with us, is also a current member of staff that gets the nod from Zaf.

Keen to mix express pace with beguiling spin, Sylvester Clarke and Waqar Younis make up the seam department while Saqlain Mushtaq and Jim Laker, decisive figures in the two most decorated periods in the Club’s history, are the spinners. Sir Jack Hobbs, with his phenomenal 43554 Surrey runs, opens the batting alongside current England man Burns.

All that remains is the skipper. Adam Hollioake led Surrey to three County Championship titles in four years and success in the inaugural Twenty20 Cup so it’s no wonder he gets the nod here.

Click here to select your Greatest XI before the vote closes on Sunday night!


Rory Burns

Jack Hobbs

Alec Stewart (wk)

Kumar Sangakkara

Mark Ramprakash

Adam Hollioake (c)

Sam Curran

Saqlain Mushtaq

Jim Laker

Sylvester Clarke

Waqar Younis

2020 Surrey & England Memberships are now available and provide priority access to tickets for next year’s international fixtures. Be sure to get yours before Tuesday’s on sale date to benefit!

Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft