Published: 31st January, 2014
The two new terraces that are being constructed as part of the OCS Stand extension have been named as the Tenison Terrace and the Westminster Terrace.
The facilities will sit at the back of the stand, directly behind the 1,000 new seats that are currently being installed, increasing the ground’s capacity to 24,500.
The names have been chosen to reflect the ground’s unique position in the heart of Central London.
The Tenison Terrace, which will be situated on the side of the ground bound by the Harleyford Road, has been named in recognition of Archbishop Tenison’s School, founded in Trafalgar Square by Archbishop Thomas Tenison in 1685 and moved to its current Kennington site – just over the road from the ground– in 1928.
In its original incarnation, the school was the first in London to offer free education for boys and its founder attended to the death beds of two monarchs, Queen Mary and King William III, and also crowned Queen Anne, William’s successor.
The club works closely with the school, offering bursaries for pupils who go onto study PE or Sports Science related courses at universities.
Surrey CCC Commercial Director Charlie Hodgson has spoken to Surrey TV on the naming of the terraces in the video below
The Westminster Terrace, being built on the side of the ground occupied by the iconic gasholders, has been named to honour the club’s connection and proximity to Westminster, which just over a mile from the ground.
It is possible to see both The Victoria Tower of the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben from the both the Members’ Pavilion and the OCS Stand. Further to this, the club have a long history of involvement with senior politicians, including former Prime Minister Sir John Major, a former President of the Club who has a room within the OCS Stand named in his honour.
To book your place to watch this summer’s International or T20 action in style, please click here to contact Andrew Allen-Simpson at Surrey CCC.