Second XI Fixtures Confirmed

Cricket - Yorkshire Bank 40 - Group B - Surrey v Essex Eagles - The Kia Oval

Published: 19th January, 2017

The Surrey Second XI fixtures for 2017 have been confirmed – with the side kicking off their campaign away at Sussex on Monday April 10th.

The fixture list, taking in the three day Second XI Championship, the One Day Second XI Trophy and the Second XI T20 competition will see Surrey largely play around the south of England, with the furthest away trip being a week in Neath to play Glamorgan in June.

Whilst there are no games scheduled for the Kia Oval – due to the ground’s heavy schedule of First XI and International cricket – there will be a number of matches at the Surrey CCC training ground, the LSE Ground in New Malden, and games will be played at Surrey club grounds in Purley, Sunbury and Guildford CC – as well as at Whitgift School in south Croydon.

Away matches will also be relatively close to home with a three day game against Kent at Beckenham in June and seven days of cricket scheduled against Sussex at Hove or the Blackstone Academy Ground.

Although previous years have seen the Second XI trial new competition formats, 2017 will be a straightforward year with no innovations presently due to be tested in the games.

As in recent seasons, T20 matches will be played as double headers with games due to start at approximately 11am and 3pm on each day.

Entrance for all Second XI games is free of charge to all – and all support from Surrey fans is welcomed – although spectator facilities at the grounds can sometimes be limited.

Full Second XI Fixture List

April 10 -12 Sussex Surrey Friendly Blackstone
April 18 – 20 Hampshire Surrey Second XI Championship Ageas Bowl
April 24 Surrey Somerset Second XI Trophy Purley CC
April 25 Surrey Middlesex Second XI Trophy Purley CC
May 1 Surrey Hampshire Second XI Trophy Whitgift School
May 3 Essex Surrey Second XI Trophy Billericay CC
May 4 Sussex Surrey Second XI Trophy TBC
May 8 Surrey Gloucestershire Second XI Trophy Purley CC
May 9 – 11 Surrey Gloucestershire Second XI Championship Purley CC
May 15 – 17 Essex Surrey Second XI Championship Billericay CC
May 30 – 31 Surrey Middlesex Friendly TBC
June 2  TBC  TBC Second XI Trophy Semi Final TBC
June 5 – 7 Kent Surrey Second XI Championship Beckenham
June 8  TBC  TBC Second XI Trophy Final  TBC
June 14 Middlesex Surrey Second XI T20 Sunbury CC
June 18 Glamorgan Surrey Second XI T20 Neath CC
June 19 – 21 Glamorgan Surrey Second XI Championship Neath CC
June 27 – 29 Surrey Somerset Second XI Championship LSE New Malden
July 4 Surrey Sussex Second XI T20 LSE New Malden
July 5 Kent Surrey Second XI T20 Folkstone
July 11 Surrey Unicorns Second XI T20 LSE New Malden
July 24 – 26 Sussex Surrey Second XI Championship Hove
August 2 Hampshire Surrey Second XI T20 Ageas Bowl
August 7 – 9 Surrey Warwickshire Friendly LSE New Malden
August 10  TBC  TBC Second XI T20 Finals Day Arundel Castle
August 14 -16 Surrey Middlesex Second XI Championship LSE New Malden
August 23 – 25 Surrey MCC Universities Second XI Championship LSE New Malden
September 5 – 8 Worcestershire Surrey Friendly TBC*
September 5 – 8  TBC  TBC Second XI Championship Final TBC
September 13 – 15 Surrey Yorkshire Friendly Guildford CC

*- Only to be played if Surrey have not qualified for the Second XI Championship final

Join the Facebook Discussion


Auto Draft
Auto Draft
Auto Draft