14 named in Surrey squad to face Yorkshire - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey have named a squad of 14 for this year’s Royal London Cup opener against Yorkshire in Scarborough on Thursday 22nd July.

Hashim Amla will skipper the side while Tim David has remained with the squad on match-by-match basis after playing the final two Vitality Blast South Group matches.

From a coaching perspective, Surrey will be led into the competition by Richard Johnson, who is stepping up whilst Head Coach Vikram Solanki works with Oval Invincibles in The Hundred, alongside Tom Moody and Matt Walker.

Rikki Clarke misses this fixture as he continues his recovery from his shoulder injury that has affected him recently while new signing Cameron Steel is currently self-isolating. Ollie Pope & Ben Foakes are both in rehabilitation following their injuries earlier in the season and not yet fit to play.

Rory Burns, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jordan Clark, Jade Dernbach, Jordan Clark, Laurie Evans, Will Jacks, Liam Plunkett, Jason Roy & Reece Topley are all with their sides for The Hundred competition and will be unavailable for Surrey throughout that competition. Jamie Overton has had to pull out of The Hundred due to a calf injury sustained in our recent LV= County Championship draw with Somerset.

This will be the first time the Royal London Cup has been played since 2019, when Surrey were eliminated at the group stage. The last time Surrey and Yorkshire played in a List A fixture, Surrey won a thrilling high scoring fixture at Headingley.

A live stream will be available from our hosts and shared on kiaoval.com. We will have regular updates on our social media channels.


Hashim Amla (C)

Gus Atkinson

Tim David

Matt Dunn

Ben Geddes

Nicholas Kimber

Conor Mckerr

Dan Moriarty

Ryan Patel

Nico Reifer

Jamie Smith (WK)

Mark Stoneman

James Taylor

Amar Virdi