Batty leads 13-man squad into Blast - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey have named a squad of 13 to travel to Hove to face Sussex in our opening Vitality Blast match of the 2020 campaign.

Gareth Batty will lead the side in Jade Dernbach’s absence. The T20 skipper has sustained a groin injury in training and is unavailable for selection.

Elsewhere, Club captain Rory Burns could be in line for his first Surrey appearance of 2020 after returning from England Test match duty.

Gus Atkinson, Daniel Moriarty & James Taylor will all be hoping to make their T20 debuts for the Club.

A total of 14 players are unavailable for selection for Surrey.

Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jason Roy & Reece Topley are all preparing for England’s upcoming fixtures. It was confirmed earlier today that Roy will miss the IT20 series with Pakistan but will remain with the national squad ahead of the white-ball series with Australia.

Ollie Pope is sidelined with a shoulder injury sustained in England’s final Test with Pakistan earlier this week.

As well as Dernbach, seamers Jordan Clark (foot and ankle), Rikki Clarke (hip)Nick Kimber (knee), Morne Morkel (ankle) and Liam Plunkett (hamstring) are out of this match while Conor McKerr’s season was ended by knee surgery earlier this month.

Hashim Amla remains unavailable and Laurie Evans, who will play for Surrey in the Vitality Blast, sits this one out due to an agreement between the two clubs after the batsman’s loan was extended until the end of the season.

The match is behind closed doors but will be live streamed by our hosts and available on shortly before play begins at 2pm. You can keep up to date with the game as it happens by following Surrey on Twitter.

After this fixture, Surrey return to The Kia Oval to face Essex on Sunday. Every non-televised home fixture will be available on and Facebook Watch.


Gareth Batty (c)

Gus Atkinson

Scott Borthwick

Rory Burns

Matt Dunn

Ben Foakes

Will Jacks

Daniel Moriarty

Ryan Patel

Jamie Smith

Mark Stoneman

James Taylor

Amar Virdi