Five Surrey men awarded Central Contracts - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Five players from Surrey’s men’s squad have been awarded Central Contracts from the ECB across Test & white-ball cricket for the 12 month period starting on 1 October 2020.

After cementing his place in the England Test side over the last 12 months, Ollie Pope has received his first Central Contract. He’s joined in the list of 12 Test players by fellow Surrey men Rory Burns and Sam Curran.

The contract caps off an incredible year for Pope, who scored his maiden Test century during England’s series win in South Africa last winter. Burns has formed an effective opening partnership with Dom Sibley at the top of the order while Curran has again proved a vital part of the squad during recent series victories.

All-rounder Tom Curran has progressed to a White Ball Central Contract, having been in possession of an Increment Contract for 2019/20, while Jason Roy remains on that same list.

Recipients of Test Central Contracts and White Ball Central Contracts have their salaries paid in full by the ECB.

Under the structure, players in both formats receive a ‘ranking’ based on their performances on the pitch, as well as a number of other factors, including off-field contribution, fielding and fitness. Those rankings then correlate with the level of remuneration.

The contracts, which cover a 12-month period commencing 1 October 2020, have been awarded to the following players:

Test Central Contracts

James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

White Ball Central Contracts

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Increment Contracts

Dom Bess (Somerset), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Jack Leach (Somerset)

Pace Bowling Development Contracts

Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Olly Stone (Warwickshire)