Jamie Smith and Gus Atkinson to make Test debuts this week - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey’s Jamie Smith and Gus Atkinson will make their England Test match debuts this week alongside Ollie Pope

Jamie Smith, Gus Atkinson and Ollie Pope have been named in England’s XI for the opening Test match against the West Indies at Lord’s, starting on Wednesday.

All three players have come through the Surrey Pathway system. Jamie Smith played his junior and club cricket for Sutton Cricket Club, with Gus Atkinson coming through the ranks at Spencer Cricket Club.

on what will be a proud day for everybody connected with the Three Feathers.

Wicketkeeper batter Jamie Smith will make his England debut with the gloves. Last September, Smith made his England ODI debut in the three-match series with Ireland.

Smith has been in scintillating form with the bat so far this summer, scoring 677 runs from 12 County Championship innings at an average of 56.41 and striking at 76.67.

Fast bowler Gus Atkinson will make his England debut in his third format of the game after making his IT20 debut and ODI debut last September – as well as being part of England’s ICC Cricket World Cup squad in the autumn. Atkinson has been mightily impressive with the ball in the Championship, taking 14 wickets from five games at an average of 29.78.

The first Test match at Lord’s will be last Test match of James Anderson’s illustrious career.

Somerset and Guildford CC spinner Shoaib Bashir will play his first Test match in England after debuting in India earlier this year.

England Team

1. Zak Crawley
2. Ben Duckett
3. Ollie Pope
4. Joe Root
5. Harry Brook
6. Ben Stokes *
7. Jamie Smith + (Debut)
8. Chris Woakes
9. Gus Atkinson (Debut)
10. Shoaib Bashir
11. James Anderson