Jordan, Roy & Topley in England T20 squad for Windies - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey men Chris Jordan, Jason Roy and Reece Topley have all been named in the England squad for the five-match T20I series with West Indies at the end of January.

Both Sam and Tom Curran miss out through back injuries that have forced their withdrawal from the IPL and BBL respectively since the end of the 2021 English domestic season.

Jordan, returning to The Kia Oval in 2022 as Surrey’s T20 captain, has just completed a five-game contract with Sydney Sixers while Reece Topley is currently with Melbourne Renegades.

Roy enjoyed a strong T20 World Cup last month before a calf injury forced him to return to the UK, where has been in rehabilitation.

Paul Collingwood will stand in as head coach for the five-match series, which will be played in Barbados from January 22-30. Marcus Trescothick will join the squad as an assistant coach.

The squad includes 11 players who travelled to the United Arab Emirates for the T20 World Cup, while all players currently at the Ashes were not considered for selection. Left-arm seamer David Payne is the one uncapped player in the squad.

Paul Collingwood said: “We have selected a strong squad with some serious batting power and a balanced attack as we begin preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia.

“The World Cup is less than a year away and there will be increased opportunities for the squad in the absence of those players who are with the Ashes squad.

“I have good memories winning a World Cup in Barbados and I’m really looking forward to going back there with this squad to face a very good West Indies who will test all aspects of our skills.”

Full squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex – captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), George Garton (Sussex), Chris Jordan (Surrey), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Tymal Mills (Sussex), David Payne (Gloucestershire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Lancashire), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire).