Rory Burns returns for visit of Essex - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey have named a squad of 15 for Monday’s Vitality Blast meeting with Essex Eagles at The Kia Oval.

Sam Curran, Tom Curran & Jason Roy have joined up with the England white-ball squad ahead of the upcoming series with Sri Lanka.

Rory Burns is now available for selection after being given an extended break following the Test series v New Zealand.

Ollie Pope will not be available to play cricket until the 24th of June having had contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19. He will now have to self-isolate until that time.

Pope did not come into contact with the individual during his time with England in the recent LV= Insurance Test series against New Zealand and he has not had any contact with any Surrey CCC players or staff.

Liam Plunkett is unavailable due to a calf strain that was sustained when playing Second XI cricket in April. Nico Reifer is unavailable due to hand injury sustained recently while playing Second XI cricket earlier this month. James Taylor is unavailable due to a side strain sustained while playing Second XI cricket in May and, latterly, a viral illness.

Nick Kimber is continuing to recover from a recent viral illness. Gus Atkinson is continuing to recover from a recent knee injury and, latterly, a viral illness. Reece Topley remains out through a side strain and Ben Foakes is continuing his recovery from the hamstring injury that ruled him out of England’s Test series with New Zealand.

Due to severe government restrictions on capacity, this fixture is only available to Members. Members can reserve their seat here.

All tickets bought prior to Monday 14th June have been cancelled and refunded. Ticket purchasers will receive a refund within 10 working days.

A live stream will be available on and the official Surrey Cricket YouTube. You can also keep up with the match via Mark Church’s BBC radio commentary, the online scorecard or regular updates on our social media channels.


Gareth Batty (c)

Hashim Amla

Gus Atkinson

Rory Burns

Jordan Clark

Rikki Clarke

Jade Dernbach

Matt Dunn

Laurie Evans

Ben Geddes

Will Jacks

Daniel Moriarty

Jamie Overton

Ryan Patel

Jamie Smith