Six Surrey players in SE Stars Academy - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Six Surrey Women players have been included in the South East Stars Regional Academy’s first intake ahead of the 2021 domestic season.

Alice Capsey, Chloe Brewer & Claudie Cooper will all be part of the Academy squad while younger players Anjali Ketan, Laxmi Johal & Maddie Blinkhorn-Jones are in the wider squad.

Capsey & Brewer both played for the South East Stars in the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy in 2020. Capsey was the team’s top run scorer, making 141 runs, while Brewer also scored 119 runs in just two matches including a high score of 79. Cooper made her Surrey Women first team debut in 2019 and was a key player in last year’s unbeaten season.

As part of the new Women’s Domestic Structure in England and Wales, eight new Regional Academies have launched to underpin the eight women’s senior regional teams, including the South East Stars.

The new Regional Academy structure replaces the Regional Development Centres (RDCs), and the new Academies will see an uplift in the hours of delivery across winter and summer, offering year-round training and matches.

Match and training schedules for regional sides will accommodate county considerations for 2021, ensuring that counties will have as many of their players available throughout the season.

Academy Squad:

Alexa Stonehouse – Kent

Alice Capsey – Surrey

Bethan Miles – Bucks County

Chloe Brewer – Surrey

Claudie Cooper – Surrey

Darcey Carter – Kent

Emma Jones – Essex

Indigo Gentry – Sussex

Kalea Moore – Kent

Megan Sturge – Kent

Ryana Macdonald-Gay – Kent

Sydney Gorham – Kent

Academy Wider Squad:

Anjali Ketan – Surrey

Jemima Spence – Kent

Jessie Gale – Kent

Laxmi Johal – Surrey

Maddie Blinkhorn-Jones – Surrey