South East Stars name squad for 2021 - Kia Oval Skip to main content

South East Stars have named a 19-strong squad for the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy and Regional T20 competition in 2021.

Captained by Tash Farrant and with Johann Myburgh as Head Coach, Stars will represent the Surrey & Kent region at the highest level of domestic women’s cricket.

Formed after the 2019 season as part of the ECB’s plan to transform women’s and girl’s cricket in this country, their first season was largely disrupted by lockdowns in the UK. They did manage a truncated 50 over Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy campaign, in which South East Stars won two and lost four of their games.

Since then, Myburgh has joined the setup and an extensive winter training programme for all five full-time professionals and members of the wider squad has been completed.

England left arm seamer Farrant led the side on the field in 2020 and will continue to do this year, with fellow international Bryony Smith as her vice captain. Kent’s Alice Davidson-Richards and Surrey’s Aylish Cranstone & Sophia Dunkley complete the list of  full-time professionals.

11 Surrey players in total are included. Batter Kirstie White, all-rounders Chloe Brewer and Alice Capsey, wicket keepers Kira Chathli and Rhianna Southby and bowlers Eva Gray (right arm medium), Danielle Gregory (leg spin) and Hannah Jones (off-spin)

In addition to Farrant and Davidson-Richards, a further four Kent players are in the group. They are batters Phoebe Franklin & Susie Rowe, seamer Grace Gibbs and 17-year-old spinner Kalea Moore. Kent’s players will be full of confidence having won the South East group in the recent County T20 competition.

England contracted Sussex bowler Freya Davies will be with the Stars when international commitments allow. Essex’s Emma Jones is the remaining player.

South East Stars begin their Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy campaign on Saturday 29th May with a trip to Essex’s Cloudfm County Ground to face Sunrisers. They play their first home match two days later, when Southern Vipers come to Kent’s County Ground in Beckenham.

You can view all of their fixtures this season here.

Entry is free to all spectators at every South East Stars home game this season. For those that can’t make it, you can watch a live stream on their YouTube channel here or get live updates from each match via their Twitter and Instagram feeds.

FULL SQUAD (Name, Squad Number, County)

Tash Farrant (C), 53, Kent

Bryony Smith (VC), 2, Surrey

Alice Davidson-Richards, 24, Kent

Sophia Dunkley, 47, Surrey

Aylish Cranstone, 28, Surrey

Freya Davies, 5, Sussex

Dani Gregory, 19, Surrey

Eva Gray, 18, Surrey

Grace Gibbs, 61, Kent

Hannah Jones, 8, Surrey

Kirstie White, 14, Surrey

Phoebe Franklin, 10, Kent

Rhianna Southby, 17, Surrey

Susie Rowe, 6, Kent

Chloe Brewer, 2, Surrey

Alice Capsey, 26, Surrey

Kira Chathli, 20, Surrey

Emma Jones, 88, Essex

Kalea Moore, 27, Kent