Squad named for Gloucestershire visit - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey have named a squad of 13 for this week’s LV= Insurance County Championship fixture with Gloucestershire at The Kia Oval.

Hashim Amla will lead the side in the absence of Club captain Rory Burns. Burns and Ollie Pope have joined up with England’s Test squad ahead of the upcoming series with New Zealand. Ben Foakes will miss that series after tearing his left hamstring.

Australia international Sean Abbott replaces Kemar Roach as our second overseas player and could be in line for his Surrey debut. Roach has returned to the Caribbean to prepare for West Indies’ upcoming Test series with South Africa.

Jordan Clark has a tight hamstring and will sit this match out as a precautionary measure. Reece Topley is rested as his return to first-class cricket is managed.

Laurie Evans, Ben Geddes & Ryan Patel have been named in the matchday squad for the first time this season, with Geddes to make his first-class debut should he be selected. Matt Dunn returns to the squad after figures of 6/30 in the recent Second XI fixture with Hampshire.

ECB contracted players Sam Curran, Tom Curran and Jason Roy will now return to training ahead of the upcoming Vitality Blast season and England white-ball matches next month.

Gloucestershire currently sit top of Group 2, with 105 points from their six matches. Surrey have played seven, winning one and losing two, and have 79 points. Four of Surrey’s games so far have been draws, including the last three which were heavily affected by rain.

You can watch every ball of this match live on kiaoval.com and our YouTube channel with our free live stream including commentary from the BBC’s Mark Church. You can also keep across the match on our match centre and with regular updates and clips across Surrey’s social media channels.


Hashim Amla (C)

Sean Abbott

Rikki Clarke

Matt Dunn

Laurie Evans

Ben Geddes

Will Jacks

Daniel Moriarty

Jamie Overton

Ryan Patel

Jamie Smith

Mark Stoneman

Amar Virdi