175th Anniversary Book nominated for SBA - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey’s book celebrating 175 years of our great Club has been nominated for Illustrated Book of the Year at this year’s Telegraph Sports Book Awards.

Showcasing the Club’s superb photographic archive and unique collection of memorabilia, this beautiful publication celebrates the Club’s achievements and pays tribute to some of the greatest to ever wear the iconic Surrey Brown Cap.

With exclusive feature articles on Surrey from former England captain Michael Atherton, Guardian Chief Sportswriter Barney Ronay, Tanya Aldred, Jonathan Liew and ex England and Glamorgan opener Steve James, the book formed a key part of the Club’s curtailed 175th anniversary celebrations.

You can still buy this book here.

The books we will be up against are:

British Football’s Greatest Grounds – Mike Bayly (Pitch Publishing)

Skate Like A Girl – Carolina Amell (Prestel)

This is Cricket – Daniel Melamud (Rizzoli)

We Are Home – Mike Dunn & AFC Wimbledon (Vision Sports Publishing)

For the first time, The Telegraph Sports Book Awards will take place at the Kia Oval on 20th September 2021.

11 awards will be dished out on the evening including the Heartaches Cricket Book of the Year which features a nomination for Bob Willis: A Cricketer and a Gentleman, published following the legendary bowler’s passing.

Clare Balding joins a stellar group of judges for the inaugural Sports Writing Award, including former Olympic Champion Christine Ohuruogu and England cricket legend Darren Gough.

Shop Surrey

Show Your Colours

Surrey Events

Driving Events Forward

Pride of Lions

Join The Pride

Greatest XI

Create The Ultimate Team