2022 Vitality Blast: All you need to know - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Everything Surrey fans need to know ahead of the start of the 2022 Vitality Blast season.

When does the Vitality Blast start?

This year we will be celebrating the 20th edition of the world’s longest running professional domestic Twenty20 competition.

The opening night of the 2022 Vitality Blast is Wednesday 25 May when there will be a rematch of last year’s final between champions Kent Spitfires and Somerset.

The group stage will be played over a 40-day period with the final round-robin matches to be staged on Sunday, July 3.

The quarter-finals will be played from July 6-10 with Finals Day at Edgbaston on July 16.

Who is in the Surrey squad?

You can view the current Surrey squad here.

Please note, this is still subject to change ahead of the start of the season.

What are the fixtures?

Click here to view all of our 2022 fixtures.

How many ‘overseas’ players can each county play?

Each county can field a maximum of two ‘overseas’ players in a Vitality Blast match.

Already some big-name stars have been signed up including Rashid Khan (Sussex Sharks), Carlos Brathwaite (Birmingham Bears), Marnus Labuschagne (Glamorgan), Shaheen Afridi (Middlesex), Qais Ahmed (Kent Spitfires), Mohammad Rizwan (Sussex Sharks), Travis Head (Sussex Sharks) and Matthew Wade (Worcestershire Rapids) with many more to come.

What are the groups and format?

This hasn’t changed. The groups remain the same with the familiar North and South split, while each county will play 14 group-stage matches (seven at home and seven away).

North Group

Birmingham Bears, Derbyshire Falcons, Durham, Lancashire Lightning, Leicestershire Foxes, Northamptonshire Steelbacks, Notts Outlaws, Worcestershire Rapids, Yorkshire Vikings.

South Group

Essex Eagles, Gloucestershire, Hampshire Hawks, Kent Spitfires, Glamorgan, Middlesex, Somerset, Surrey, Sussex Sharks.

How do counties qualify for the knockout stages?

The quarter-finals will be seeded with the higher-seeded team set to host their quarter-final. So, as an example, the top team in the North Group will host the fourth-ranked team from the South Group in the quarter-finals.

The four winners of the quarter-finals will qualify for Finals Day at Edgbaston on July 16.

All knockout matches will have a reserve day should that be required.

How do I buy tickets?

Tickets are currently on sale to Members, who are able to purchase for their guests. After that, previous purchasers will also have a priority window. Keep an eye on your emails to find out the exact date and time.

All remaining tickets will be on general sale from 1st March.

How can I watch and follow?

Our live streams will again return for every single ball of every home match, with a range of improvements planned. For away fixtures, we will share the live stream on our website although this will be run and operated by the host county.