Amla & Morkel receive MCC Honorary Life Membership - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Marylebone Cricket Club have announced 18 new honorary life members including current Surrey batter Hashim Amla, former fast bowler Morne Morkel & other ex-Surrey players Harbhajan Singh & Sarah Taylor.

Amla, who has been an overseas player with Surrey for the last two seasons, and Morkel are two of the four South African legends to receive the honour; alongside Herschelle Gibbs & Jacques Kallis.

Harbhajan Singh is joined by fellow Indian Javagal Srinath while Sarah Taylor, who won the Kia Super League with Surrey Stars in 2018, is one of three women honoured.

Amla enjoyed an impressive 2021 season, his second since joining Surrey after retiring from international cricket. The metronomic batter scored 994 runs in 20 first-class innings this season, a remarkable appetite for runs after a South Africa career of 18.553 runs across all formats.

Morkel will be best remembered by Surrey fans for his 2018 LV= County Championship season, in which his 59 wickets proved pivotal in steering Surrey to the Division One title for the first time in 16 years. Not only was Morkel a sheer force of nature with the ball throughout the season, he also hit the runs that clinched the title at Worcestershire’s New Road.

Harbhajan played 24 fixtures for Surrey between 2005 & 2007, taking 57 wickets across all formats. From a nation that has produced many of the game’s greatest spinners, Harbhajan is considered one of India’s best ever, taking 711 wickets in international cricket.

Taylor, one of the finest wicket keepers in the history of all cricket, played for Surrey Stars as Nat Sciver’s side won the Kia Super League in 2018.


Hashim Amla (South Africa)
Ian Bell (England)
Ian Bishop (West Indies)
Alex Blackwell (Australia)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)
Sir Alastair Cook (England)
Grant Flower (Zimbabwe)
Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa)
Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)
Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
Damien Martyn (Australia)
Sara McGlashan (New Zealand)
Morne Morkel (South Africa)
Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)
Harbhajan Singh (India)
Javagal Srinath (India)
Sarah Taylor (England)
Marcus Trescothick (England)