Harinath among four new members of the General Committee - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Arun Harinath, Chris Thompson, Laura Rolles and David Gill have been elected to serve four-year terms on the Surrey CCC General Committee.

Two of the successful candidates are former Surrey players, Arun Harinath and Chris Thompson – both of whom originally graduated from the Surrey Academy.

Harinath played 70 games for Surrey between 2009 and 2018, scoring 3,795 runs for the Club. After retirement, he now works in the business of sport and sits as a trustee of the Surrey Cricket Foundation.

Thompson represented England U19 and played Second XI cricket for Surrey from 2004 to 2006 and again in 2012. He made his first-class debut for Leicestershire in 2009 and has played club cricket in Surrey for the last decade.

Laura Rolles is a Surrey fan, scorer at Chiswick CC and is involved with the ECB Association of Cricket Officials. David Gill is a former member of the Surrey CCC Management Board and has been deeply involved with community sport throughout the county of Surrey.

The four candidates will replace Warwick Jones, Kunle Olafare JP, Steve Wootten and Rebecca Garrard, all of whom have reached the end of their four-year term.

Going forward, the sixteen people who comprise the Surrey CCC General Committee are:

Martin Bicknell
Lizzy Conder
Roger Harman
David Watts
Phil Garrard
Bob Qureshi
Martin Searle
Richard Thompson
Jerry Hudson
Matt Tee
Ros Trinick
Alex Tudor
Arun Harinath
Chris Thompson
Laura Rolles
David Gill

They are joined on the Committee by Club President David Pakeman, Deputy President Patricia Garrard and Honorary Treasurer Martin Eadon.

There were ten unsuccessful candidates: Mike Squires, Henry Thorpe, Mike Reeve, Roland Walton, Chris Payne, Kieran Kumaria, Ketan Patel, Richard Smith-Morgan, James Smith and Tim Blythe.

As a Members’ Club, Surrey is owned and run by its Members. This is manifested by the General Committee, a body of sixteen Members chaired by Club Chair Richard Thompson.

The General Committee oversees all areas of club business including on the field issues and the continuing development of The Kia Oval as a major international stadium. If successfully elected, Members serve an (unpaid) four-year term, attending as many of the six meetings a year as they are able to.

Members of the General Committee also receive Committee Room privileges during matches held at The Kia Oval, allowing them to watch games from the Committee Room at the Pavilion End and invite guests to join them.

Surrey CCC Chair, Richard Thompson, said: “It gives me great pleasure to welcome Arun, Chris and David back to Surrey County Cricket Club and welcome Laura for the first time.

“It’s vitally important to have a high class and engaged General Committee and I have every confidence these four individuals will help us do just that.”

Shop Surrey

Show Your Colours

Surrey Events

Driving Events Forward

Pride of Lions

Join The Pride

Greatest XI

Create The Ultimate Team