Surrey Women capped to mark Club appearances - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey have awarded caps to women’s players who have made 30 or more appearances to recognise their commitment and their importance to the Club – spanning more than 70 years of history.

A special presentation ceremony was held in the Jan Brittin Room of the Micky Stewart Members’ Pavilion on Thursday 22 September with caps handed out by Surrey CEO Steve Elworthy.

Surrey Brown Caps are being given to those who played between 30-50 times for the county. For those with 50 or more appearances a presentation cap was awarded with a tassel and silver embroidery, whilst for those with 100 or more the presentation cap is embroidered with gold. In future, caps will be presented to players as they reach their milestones.

44 players in Surrey history have now been capped including Club legends Jan Brittin, Ebony Rainford-Brent and, Surrey’s all-time leading wicket taker in women’s cricket, Sarah Clarke.

Previously caps had been handed out to female players who had played a number of games for the Club as well as achieving international honours. Surrey’s Katherine Robson and Ebony Rainford-Brent worked to introduce the new criteria for capping players.

Sue Robinson, who is scorer for the Surrey Women as well covering games for the South East Stars and the Men’s Second XI, played a key role in researching and collating the list of players to be recognised. The list was compiled from scorecards available from 1950 onwards – however in some cases there were some details missing.

Ebony Rainford-Brent said “It’s important for the Club to recognise the women who have made outstanding contributions on the field with their Surrey Caps. I’m incredibly proud to have played for Surrey and to receive my Cap is a real honour. Congratulations to all the women who have been recognised and, on behalf of Surrey CCC, I’d like to thank them for their service.”

Full list of those recognised:

Brown Cap

J Batson
A Beehag
J Cummins
Charlotte Dickenson
Shirley Dixon (nee Driscoll)
Amy Gordon
Janet Greenhead
J Hawes
H Hegarty
Sue Hobkinson
Laura Joyce
Holly Knight
P M Lovell
Mary Nicholls
Amanda Potgieter
Sophie Pout
Sue Robinson
Rhianna Southby
Chris Whatmough

Silver Cap (for 50 appearances)

Ann Baker
E Barker
S Bayton
Jan Brittin
Pat Smyth (nee Cavalier)
Joey Robinies (nee Elliott)
Sinead Goodden
P Halls
Shelia Plant
Ebony Rainford-Brent
Mandy Wain (also A Raynham)
Katherine Robson
Natalie Sciver
Bryony Smith
Lynn Upfold
J Westbrook

Gold Cap (For 100 appearances)

Caroline Barrs
Sarah Clarke
G Davies
Hannah Jones
Beth Kerins
Patsy Lovell
Denise Orford
Cecily Scutt
Kirstie White