Surrey's LVCC squad named to face Essex - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey have named a squad of 16 for the LV= County Championship Division Two clash with Essex, starting on Sunday 12th September at The Kia Oval.

Surrey will be looking to bounce back after a final session two-wicket defeat against Northamptonshire on Wednesday. Essex have won both of their matches in Division Two so far, beating both Glamorgan & Gloucestershire.

Hashim Amla will again captain the team. Centrally contracted player Rory Burns has been rested by the ECB after the fifth LV= Insurance Test with India was cancelled but Ollie Pope has been released to play. Sam Curran is set to travel to the UAE ahead of the resumption of the Indian Premier League on Sunday 19 September.

Ben Foakes & Nicholas Kimber played for the 2nd XI earlier this week and will continue to train with the Club’s coaching staff as part of their return to play programme. Jamie Overton is recovering from a back issue.

England white ball contracted player Tom Curran continues to be monitored by the ECB medical team and will miss this LV= County Championship game with Essex in order to aid his recovery from a knee injury that he has been managing for a period of time.

England management have confirmed that Jason Roy will be unavailable for the rest of the LV= County Championship campaign. Roy will be given time to work on his white-ball skills and fitness ahead of the winter programme, which includes the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the UAE.

Tickets are available for this match here. Any ticket purchased can be used on any day. Each ticket can only be used once.

Surrey & England, County, Championship, 16-25 & Pride of Lions Members can access this fixture by showing their Membership card at the gate. Guest vouchers, supplied in the Membership packs, can also be used for this fixture.

For those that can’t make it to The Kia Oval, our usual live stream will be available on YouTube & with regular updates across other social media channels.


Hashim Amla (c)

Gus Atkinson

Jordan Clark

Rikki Clarke

Matt Dunn

Laurie Evans

Will Jacks

Conor McKerr

Daniel Moriarty

Ryan Patel

Ollie Pope

Jamie Smith

Cameron Steel

James Taylor

Reece Topley

Amar Virdi