The Kia Oval to host star-studded Sports Book Awards gala evening - Kia Oval Skip to main content

The 2022 Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times announces 11 category shortlists today, including best cricket book.

Mark Pougatch will host the 20th Sports Book Awards, to take place at The Kia Oval on the evening of 26 May, and the evening will also feature the award for the Best Sports Book of the 21st century.

The Sports Book Awards in association with The Sunday Times is the major annual promotion for sports writing and publishing. The awards exist to highlight the most outstanding sports books of the previous calendar year to showcase their merits and to enhance their reputation and profile.

The 2022 categories will include The Pinsent Masons Best Sports Writing Award, and The Heartaches’ Cricket Book of the Year sponsored by Sir Tim Rice, which includes Tailenders’ host Felix White’s memoir, largely based around The Kia Oval, and two books from Fairfield Books, who have offices inside the ground.

Sports Book Awards Chairman, David Willis says: “Twenty years of the Sports Book Awards sees a tremendous panorama of brilliant and colourful writing. Sports writing now attracts some of the finest talent in the English language and we are proud to be associated with such a successful and exhilarating genre.”

The Bob Willis Fund is the charity partner for the 2022 awards. The Bob Willis Fund has been set up to raise money for prostate cancer research and awareness, with the aim of achieving a national screening programme in the next 3-5 years. Please visit the Bob Willis Fund website for more information.

Emily Pritchard, The Kia Oval’s Conference and Events Sales Manager: “The Sports Book Awards are one of the leading events for celebrating a very popular and diverse genre of publishing and we’re delighted to be hosting them at The Kia Oval for the second consecutive year. We look forward to welcoming all the nominees and what will be another successful night come May 26th!”

The Heartaches’ Cricket Book of the Year shortlist

Beyond the Boundaries, Scyld Berry (Fairfield Books)

It’s Always Summer Somewhere, Felix White (Cassell)

Never Surrender, Mark Peel (Pitch Publishing)

Late Cuts: Musings on Cricket, Vic Marks (Allen & Unwin)

Who Only Cricket Know, David Woodhouse (Fairfield Books)

Why We Kneel, How We Rise, Michael Holding (Simon and Schuster UK)

For more information about the Sports Book Awards 2022, visit