Pan-Disability team crowned champions - Kia Oval Skip to main content

Surrey’s Pan-Disability side have been crowned national champions are winning Division One of the D40 League.

Captained by Jonny Gale, Surrey went unbeaten with three victories, two abandonments and one cancellation.

Surrey’s last fixture, against Hampshire on Sunday, was abandoned with our opponents on 168/2 from 19.5 overs giving Surrey the 10 points required to seal the title ahead of Middlesex.

Surrey’s three victories in the competition came against Middlesex, Wales & Shropshire.

They got the winning run going against Middlesex at Spencer CC largely thanks to the bowling performance of Umar Khan, who claimed 5/25 from his eight allotted overs.

The next win was the most comprehensive, a 200 run demolition of Wales. Centuries at the top of the order from Asif Abbasi and Jonny Gale took Surrey to a huge 275 before Luke Saunders and Matt Harris claimed four and three wickets each to bowl Wales out for 75.

The third and final victory was again a big one, beating Shropshire by 152 runs. Gale was again crucial with the bat, hitting 122. He was partnered by James Grindrod, who made 114 as Surrey registed 297 from their 40 overs. It was a team effort with the ball, with all six bowlers claiming at least one wicket.

That left Gale at the top of the run scoring charts with 248 runs from his five innings, an average of 49.60. You can view the full batting statistics here.

Saunders was the star man with the ball, taking 19 wickets from his 55 overs with both Umar Khan and Jamil Khan (10) offering vital support. You can view the full bowling statistics here.